Arkansas Tax Deeds

March 28th, 2022 by admin Leave a reply »

In Arkansas, all counties hold on to tax delinquent properties for one year, and after notifying the property owner, they then deliver the forfeited properties to the Commission of State Lands. The title to the tax delinquent lands shall vest in the State of Arkansas in care of the Commissioner of State Lands. The Commission of State Lands office becomes responsible for organizing and conducting public tax deed sales throughout the Arkansas counties. Sales generally take place throughout the year in various counties.

The county tax collector in each county is in charge of collecting delinquent property tax. Upon proper notification of the property owner, the tax collector will submit the following information relating to each tax delinquent property. This information will be published between 30 and 40 days before the properties are turned over to the Commission of State Lands.

A list of non-redeemed real property;
The names of the property owners of record;
The total amount due to redeem the property, including taxes, penalties, interest, and related costs;
The expiration date of the redemption period; and
Notice that the property will be forfeited to the state unless the property is redeemed prior to the expiration period of redemption.

Tax Deed Sale Process

The Commissioner of State Lands Web site has all of the required information for buying state-owned tax deeds in Arkansas. A schedule of tax deed sales throughout the state and the inventory of properties are published on the Web site. The tax delinquent property sales list contains the name of the property owner, the legal description of the property, the parcel number, the taxes due on the property, and the minimum bid that is required to purchase the tax deed. It is certainly advisable to do the proper research on a property before committing to make a purchase. The things that you will want to know about the property include the assessed and market value of the property, the location and size of the property, any liens, mortgages or other assessments on the property for which the deed holder may be held liable. The Arkansas county Web sites and numerous other online real estate Web sites are good places to assist you in your research.

Interested investors must pre-register if they wish to attend a tax deed sale. The tax deed sale is competitive, meaning that the investor willing to pay the highest amount for a property will win the tax deed. Bidders also have the option to mail in their bid to the office of the Commissioner of State Lands. In most cases, bids must be received no later than seven days prior to the date of sale. For lands that do not sell for the minimum bid amount, either by mail or at the sale, the Commissioner may negotiate a sale. All negotiated sales must have the approval of the Arkansas Attorney General.

For all sales, the first $100 is due in the form of cash, money order, or cashier’s check. The remaining amount may be paid by personal check, but the the deed will not be issued until that check clears. Upon payment of the full price owed, the purchaser will receive a certificate of purchase from the Commissioner of State Lands. It is important to note that the former property owner is given 30 days from the date of the tax deed purchase to redeem the property. If redemption by the former property owner does occur, the tax deed purchaser receives a full refund. If redemption does not occur, the purchaser will receive a limited warranty deed.


Comments are closed.